On 13 July 1960, a government decree officially divided Bulgaria into five distinct viticultural regions.

Danubian Plain (North Bulgarian)

The Danubian Plain or North Bulgarian region encompasses the south banks of the Danube and the central and western parts of the Danubian Plain. The climate of the area is temperate continental. The summer is hot and sunny. Typical wine types are Muscat Ottonel, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Chardonnay, Aligot├ę, Pamid and the local Gamza.

Black Sea (East Bulgarian)

East Bulgarian is the region where 30% of all vines are located. The region is characterized by long and mild autumns. They make favorable condition for the accumulation of sugars to make fine white wine (53% of all white wine varietals are concentrated in the region). The wine types are Dimyat, Riesling, Muscat Ottonel, Ugni blanc, Sauvignon blanc, Traminer, and Gew├╝rztraminer.

Rose Valley (Sub-Balkan)

The Rose Valley region is located south of the Balkan Mountains. It is divided into an eastern and western subregion, with wine types such as Muscatel, Riesling, Rkatsiteli, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot dominating. The region is famous for its dry and off-dry white wine and less red wine. It includes the Sungurlare Valley, famous for its wine from the Red Misket grape variety.

Thracian Lowland (South Bulgarian)

The temperate continental climate in the area and the favorable distribution of precipitation are good premises for the developed red wine growing in the lowlands of Upper Thrace. The region includes the central part of the lowland, as well as parts of the Sakar Mountain. Mavrud. The most typical wine types are a local wine such as Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Muscatel, and Pamid.

Struma River Valley (Southwest Bulgarian)

This region includes the southwestern parts of Bulgaria, the valley of the river Struma in the historical region of Macedonia. The area is small in size, but is climatically very distinct and characteristic, owing to the strong Mediterranean influence from the south. The local wine types such as Shiroka melnishka loza (taking its name from Melnik), Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot are also cultivated here.

Each of these regions has its specific features and peculiarities and is something distinct and different from the rest.